answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, after the kicking team has kicked it, they can run to the ball it is theirs if they fall on it or pick it up and they could even run it for a TD. (However they must kick the ball at least 10 yards for this to occur)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-01-12 02:33:07
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can the kicking team run down the field and get the ball and run it in for a touch down or is the ball gounded?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a player on a punt be standing in the end zone and touch the ball in the playing field and down the ball on the one yeard line?

I say that any part of the body of the kicking team may not be in the end zone and touch the ball in the playing field to down the ball on the playing field for the other team. If I am wrong the Old Man was right.


When is a blocked field goal a live ball for the team kicking the field goal?

The ball is always live. The kicking team, however, can only recover it after the opposing team touches it. If the Field Goal is blocked it can be recovered by the kicking team if the ball never crosses the line of scrimmage.


What is illegal touch in football?

On a punt, if the kicking team is the first to touch the ball, it's called an "illegal touch" and the ball is instantly spotted wherever the ball was touched by the kicking team. The receiving team takes over possession from there on a first down.


How can you repair a resistive touch panel collapse?

by kicking it like a foot ball


Can the field goal kicking team catch the field goal attempt and run?

yes... they can its happened to me beforeNo. A scrimmage kick can only be recovered by the receiving team. It's exactly the same as a punt: If the kicking team is first to touch the ball, that constitutes an illegal touch. The only way the kicking team could maintain possession after kicking a field goal is if:The kick was no good, and the receiving team fields the ball and then loses possession.The kick was no good, and the receiving team touches the ball first within the field of play and beyond the line of scrimmage.The kick is taken on first, second, or third down, is blocked, doesn't cross the line of scrimmage, and the kicking team recovers.If a team caught its own field goal kick, the ball would be dead where the catch was made, and the opposing team would put it into play from that spot.


If a ball on a punt is first touched by the kicking team and then touched by the receiving team but then recovered by the kicking team. Does the kicking team get the ball?

If the kicking team touches the ball first, they cannot gain possession. Even if the receiving team picks up the ball and fumbles it, the kicking team cannot legally recover it. The ball is dead and possessed by the receivers at the recovery point. That's right, because a punt first touched by the kicking team is always considered an illegal touch. When a kicking team downs the ball on an ordinary punt play, that's technically an illegal touch, but no penalty is assessed -- the ball simply goes over to the receiving team at that point. In the scenario presented in the question, the only difference is that the kicking team failed to down the ball on their first touch. No matter what happens after that point, they are ineligible to recover the ball.


What is a Forced Touch in college football?

You have 'illegal touching' on a player when a kick is touched by the kicking team. The receiving team, regardless of the outcome of the play, can choose to take the play at that spot. There is also the concept of 'touching' when a receiving player touches the ball on a kick. At that point, the kicking team can recover the kick and maintain possession. A "forced touch" is when that touch occurs because the opposing player 'forces' an opponent to touch the ball. For example, if a receiving player is being blocked by a kicking team player and the kicking team player blocks the receiving team player into the ball, the receiving team player is 'being forced to touch the ball by the block.' In this instance, the kicking team cannot recover the ball and maintain possession, because the touching of the ball by the receiving team was a 'force touch.'


How is a ball kicked out on the full?

point the top of the ball and the seam of the ball towards the touch line, then strike your foot through the lower third quarter of the ball. remember to strike your leg straight and finish with your kicking foot pointed towards the touch line. once you get comfortable with this in practice then you can try kicking further into touch I'm a elite rugby player


Can the team kicking a field goal get possession of the ball if the opposing team fumbles the ball upon returning it?

Yes of course


Can a fumbled punt recovered by the kicking team be advanced down the field?

Yes. If the receiving team has gained control of the ball and then fumbled, the ball can be recovered and returned by the kicking team. If the ball is 'muffed' (ball touches a member of the receiving team but no member of the receiving team has possession) the ball can be recovered by the kicking team but not advanced.


Can the kicking team pass the 10 yard mark before the ball on an onside kick?

Yes. There is no rule about the kicking team passing the 10 yard mark before the ball, only that the kicking team cannot touch the ball before it travels 10 yards unless the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team.


Does the kicking team get any points if the ball lands in the end zone and the receiving does not down the ball and the kicking team does?

On a punt, the ball would simply be given to the receiving team at the 20 yard line. Touchback, no points. That's because the kicking team can't be the first to touch a scrimmage kick (punts, placekicks, dropkicks). If they do touch it first, the ball is dead and still goes to the receiving team. On a kickoff, if the ball went into the end zone and the kicking team recovered, it would be a touchdown for the kicking team. Free kicks are available for either team to recover, provided the ball has traveled at least 10 yards.


What is the force of a foot kicking a soccer ball with the force of the soccer ball on the foot?

kicking of ball is which force


In football on an onside kick if the ball touches the receiving team and then the kicking team recovers is it a turnover?

the defence doesnt have to touch the ball in order for the offence to get it.


How do you say kicking a soccer ball in spanish?

Kicking a soccer ball in Spanish


What is the accuracy of a female kicking a soccer ball from the end of the soccer field to about half field?

The accuracy of a female (or any other player) kicking a soccer ball from the end line to about midfield will vary. It will vary from kick to kick if the same player takes two consecutive kicks. It will vary from player to player. It will also be affected by the ball and the field conditions (and that includes weather).


How is the ball put into play when it goes out of bounds over the touch line?

A throw-in is awarded when the ball leaves the field across a touch line.


When punt if the ball goes over the crossbar does it count as a field goal?

In the NFL, the kicking team cannot score direct points on a punt. A punt that goes over the crossbars would be considered a touch back.


What are the bones that are involved when kicking a soccer ball?

Movements of the Hip Joint When Kicking a Soccer Ball


Can the kicking team recover a kicked ball?

Yes but only if the ball is fumbled by the other team (the runner loses possession while running or touches the football but does not catch it). The kicking team cannot recover a kicked ball if the receiving team has not touched it/fumbled. If the kicking team does touch it before the receiving team does, it is considered a dead ball and the receiving team's offense will start wherever the ball was stopped.


Can a missed field goal be downed by the kicking team?

No if it hits the turf it is a dead ball and place where the line of scrimmage was


Can a team attempt a feelgo on 3rd down miss the kick then get the ball back on 4th down?

I assume you mean "field goal." Yes, this is possible, if the ball is blocked and never crosses the line of scrimmage, and the kicking team recovers. The kicking team could also recover the ball past the line of scrimmage if the kicking team touched the ball first.


Does ball have to touch the ground in onsides kick?

In an on-sides kick the football does not have to touch the ground. The football must travel at least 10 yards before the kicking team can legally touch the football.


When do you throw a soccer ball in soccer games?

Whenever the ball exits the field across a touch line.


Does an onside kick have to go beyond ten yards?

If the kicking team wants to recover their own onside kick and be awarded possession, then yes, the ball must travel ten yards before it is touched by a player from the kicking team, UNLESS the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team. The receiving team can touch and/or recover the ball at any time. The ball ALSO has to touch the ground in addition to going 10 yards. Both those conditions must be met for the kicking team to recover the kick and maintain possession. The other way to do it is for the receiving team to touch the ball first.