answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the ball is completely outside of the penalty area then the goal keeper may not touch it with his hands. Doing so will result in a direct free kick for the opposition at the location of the touch, just like any other player.

Where the goal keeper's body is at the moment of the touch does not matter.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2010-04-14 20:05:11
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can the goalie hold the ball outside the 18-yard box area off the ground?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a soccer goalie pick up a ball in the penalty area when his feet are outside?

yes


What is the goalie crease in hockey for?

It dictates the area in which the goalie should have complete freedom of movement and is the goalie's area.


Can you run out of the goalie area as goalie?

Yes


Can a goalie touch the ball outside the penalty area?

A direct free kick would be awarded to the opposing team.


Where is the goalie box in hockey arena?

The Goalie box does not exist. If you are talking about the Goalie Crease, it is a semi-circle in front of the net that is considered the goalie's area and other players are not to invade that area.


What happens if a soccer ball touches a player's hands?

If it's not the goalkeeper and outside the area, and the referee thinks it's deliberate, then it's a free kick to the opposition. If it's not the goalie and inside the area, and deliberate, then it's a penalty. If the goalie handles outside the area, then it's a free kick - this is most likely to result in a sending off as well.


In Gatorball can the goalie play any ball with his hands inside the goalie area?

Yes, as long as they are in the goalie box


Name for the goalie's area?

crease


Goalie hand ball?

A goal keeper cannot deliberately handle the ball outside of his own penalty area. If they do, then a direct free kick is awarded to the opponents.


When can players cross line after goalie kicks?

The opposing team must remain outside of the penalty area during the taking of a goal kick. No player may touch the ball until it leaves the penalty area.


Can a goalie play the ball with their hands if the ball is inside the penalty box but their feet are outside the penalty box?

Yes, the goalie is allowed to handle the ball as long as the ball remains in the marked area. I.E. If the goalie slides to get a ball, and slides out of the penalty box, but the ball remains inside, it is still as if he/she had just picked it up standing inside the box. Hope it helps!


What happens if you touch the ball but you are goalie?

A goal keeper is allowed to touch the ball with their hands when the ball is inside their own penalty area. If a goal keeper does so outside of the area, then a direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team.

People also asked