answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes.

There was a rule in College Football where the defense could not advance the ball after recovering a fumble but it was abolished in 1992.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-09-30 02:53:23
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
1.0
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
1 Review

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can the defense advance a fumble in college football?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can you advance a fumble on a kickoff in college football?

Yes


When can't a pro football player advance a fumble?

they can


What does F mean in football defense stats?

Fumble


Can a fumbled football be advanced at the high school level?

Yes the football can be advanced by any team Incorrect - the defense cannot advance a fumble in high school football. The play is blown dead upon fumble and the ball spotted where the change in possession occurred.


Can a fumble be advanced on a kickoff in college football?

Yes. The only 'weird' fumble rule is on 4th down. On 4th down, only the fumbler may advance his own fumble. If any other offensive player gets possession, the ball is dead and placed at the spot of the fumble. Since a kickoff is, by definition, not 4th down, it can be advanced.


In college football if a players foot hits the ball causing a fumble is a penalty?

If the 'kick' is intentional, it is an illegal kick penalty. If it is unintentional, it is a fumble.


Largest margin of victory in a college football overtime game?

ASU beat USC 47 - 34 in 2OT in 1996 (scored TD on offense, returned fumble for TD on defense).


What does a fumble mean in football?

A fumble is when a player with the ball drops it.


Can you return a fumble on a two point conversion in college football?

Obviously its two points for the returning team.


Does a facemask prior to a fumble negate the fumble?

If there is a facemask on the defense then it should negate any fumble they may have acquired during play.


If you fumble the ball in football is it first down if you pick it up?

If the offense recovers the fumble and advances it beyond the original first down line, yes, it is a first down. If the ball is not advanced past the original first down line then the next play is the down after the one that the fumble occurred on. For example, if a running back fumbles the ball on second down and an offensive line man recovers the fumble but does not advance the ball beyond the original first down line, it is then third down. If the defense recovers the fumble, then it is an automatic first down wherever the player that recovered the fumble is downed.


In the NFL can you advance your own fumble?

You can advance your own fumble if the play is still alive, you pick up the fumble in a legal position (off your knees and elbows and not being touched by the opponent) and whistle doesnt sound.

People also asked