answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Fair catch interference.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2011-09-18 22:14:08
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can punt receiver be blocked to prevent him from catching punt?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is a punt receiver in a football game allowed to block the person running down the field to tackle him or block him from downing the football if the receiver lets the punt go?

Yes, though this is not usually seen often due to the punt receiver's focus being only on catching the ball.


Can a blocked punt be punted again?

Only if there was a penalty against the team that blocked the punt, such as offsides.


Can you return a blocked punt?

Yes.


Can you advance a blocked punt?

Yes


Is a blocked punt count towards your average?

No. Statistically, the attempt and the negative yardage from a blocked punt should be assessed to the "Team," not the punter.


Is a blocked punt a dead ball?

nope


What is a muff in football?

A 'muff' is generally used with punting and occurs when the player that is catching the punt drops it or 'muffs it' without ever having possession of the ball. There is a distinct difference in the NFL rules between a muff and a fumble. If a punt receiver fumbles a punt, that means he had possession of the ball and then fumbled. The punting team can recover a fumble and advance it as many yards as they can get. If a punt receiver muffs a punt, that means the receiver did not have possession of the ball. The punting team may recover a muff but may not advance the ball. The punting team would gain possession of the ball at the spot of the recovery.


Can a blocked punt be advanced at the high school level?

No


Can the punter re-punt the ball after it's blocked?

yes


Can the kicking team pick up a blocked punt then throw a forward pass?

no.


Can the kicking team advance a blocked punt?

Yes they can, although that is almost impossible.


If a punt is fumbled by the punt receiver and goes into the endzone but not out of the endzone and recovered by the kicking team is it a touchdown for the kicking team or a touchback?

It's a touchdown.

People also asked