6" . A STANDARD RECTANGULAR BACKBOARD IS 42" HIGH. THE TOP OF RIM IS 36" FROM THE TOP OF BACKBOARD, SO THAT LEAVES 6" FROM THE BOTTOM OF BACKBOARD TO TOP OF RIM.
backboard top is 15 feet
No, in club volleyball, you can touch any part of the net except for the top tape, and in high school and college, you cannot touch any part of the net.
yes ed book did it by jumping and he is 2.3 meters tall
No. If it touches the top of the backboard, it is ruled as out of bounds, therefore, a turnover
as log as the player's feet remain in bounds and the ball is not obstructed by the shot clock or the top of the backboard the basked is legal.
If the ball goes off the rim and over the backboard then it is out of bounds. If it goes off the rim and hits the top of the backboard but falls back in play on the front side of the backboard, then it isn't out of bounds.
The Ball is still in play. Back surface is the only out-of-bounds part of the backboard. (Supporting elements, such as pipes or poles or arms, etc. are obviously not part of the backboard or rim and are out of bounds.)The ball traveling OVER the top of the backboard is OUT of bounds. I believe this rule was put in place because Wilt Chamberlain would score from the other side of the board.Some sources say that if the backboard is 'fan shaped' or arched top, then the over-top rule does not apply, but does if the backboard is rectangle.It's amazing to me how many times this happens at the gym and players call it out of bounds. Cmon! You gotta know the rules if you want to play the game. No one ever knows this rule, but here it is:Rule 4, Section I - c. All five sides of the backboard (top, bottom, both sides and front face) are in play. As long as the shot stays on the top of the backboard, it is still in bounds. When it falls through the basket, the goal counts. But once the ball crosses over the backboard - regardless of where it comes to rest - it is out of bounds.
It is 13 feet tall.
Yes the ball can touch the net, but the player can't touch the top of the net or bottom.
If you are on the left side of the ring then the best way to go is to aim for the top right corner of the backboard. If you are positioned in the middle and in line with the ring then you aim for the middle of the top of the ring. If you are on the left of the ring then its best to aim for the top left corner of the backboard. Try these at home and you are most likely to get more of your shots in and enjoy this little tip. I know this because I'm a state basketball player and this is the proper way and always works.
Only if it stays there. If it comes down inside the lines, then it's still in play. If the ball touches the very top of the backboard it is considered and declared out of bounds to most referees.
No, Jackie Jackson did.
If the basketball touches the side of, or goes over, the backboard, then the ball is called out of bounds and the play is called dead.
Yes, and it's out-of-bounds.
Yes several times, at kansas and with the Globetrotters
Yes. When the ball remains out of play the clock is stopped.
If you are taller than your classmates, you are "tall for your age." If you can touch the top of an average doorway, you are "fairly tall" (5 ft 8 in or taller). If you can reach up and touch a basketball backboard, you are tall (6 ft 3 in or taller). If you can reach up and touch a basketball rim (10 ft), you are very tall (7 ft 2 in or taller).
Out of bounds, same if it hits the very top or back of the backboard!
The measurement of 10' refers to the distance from the rim to the ground.