A starting pitcher who is removed cannot re-enter in either league, if he is removed from the game. It's rarely if ever done in Major League baseball, but if a pitcher is removed as a pitcher but placed in another position he can later return to the pitcher position.
Yes. Regardless of what the final score is, if the pitcher's team does not tie or take the lead after being removed he is credited with the loss.
A pitcher other than the pitcher who is pitching in the game that's being played.
depends on how fast its thrown. every pitcher has a different speed
If the game is being played with the Designated Hitter rule, he does not bat at all. If the game is not being played with the Designated Hitter rule and the new pitcher simply replaces the prior pitcher, the new one bats in same place in the batting order as the former pitcher. If the pitcher comes in on a double switch, the new one may bat in place of the former pitcher or of the other player being removed at the manager's discretion.
Yes. However, rules state a pitcher must pitch one complete at bat before being taken out of the game (unless the pitcher gets injured and cannot continue). So, as long as the batter being pitched to is not the first batter the pitcher is facing, the pitcher may be removed in the middle of the count.
On ESPN's major league telecast on August 15, 2007, Bob Feller was being interviewed, regarding the death of Hall of Famer Phil Rizutto, and he stated that he, Bob Feller, was the youngest pitcher ever to win a game, and the youngest pitcher to lose a game, at age 17.
In MLB, any player removed from a game is ineligible to return to that game. If a pitcher is moved from the pitching position to another position, he may at a later time be moved back into the pitching position.
It's five innings. The rule doesn't make much sense unless you understand the lingo, but here it is anyways. (a) The official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher that pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, unless (1) such pitcher is a starting pitcher and Rule 10.17(b) applies; or (2) Rule 10.17(c) applies. Rule 10.17(a) Comment: Whenever the score is tied, the game becomes a new contest insofar as the winning pitcher is concerned. Once the opposing team assumes the lead, all pitchers who have pitched up to that point and have been replaced are excluded from being credited with the victory. If the pitcher against whose pitching the opposing team gained the lead continues to pitch until his team regains the lead, which it holds to the finish of the game, that pitcher shall be the winning pitcher. (b) If the pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, is a starting pitcher who has not completed (1) five innings of a game that lasts six or more innings on defense, or (2) four innings of a game that lasts five innings on defense, then the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the relief pitcher, if there is only one relief pitcher, or the relief pitcher who, in the official scorer’s judgment was the most effective, if there is more than one relief pitcher.
They are not being removed! There are more now then ever before.
Catcher, pitcher, outfield, and first base are the only position a lefty will play at the major league level.