answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the ball is held long enough to have possession and called an out then yes. If the ball is not held long enough for an out to be called then no.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-02 21:13:10
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

25 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Sports

10 cards

Sample of oath of sportsmanship

What is the most common form of violence in sports

What sport was banned by European missionaries because it was considered immoral

What is another name for non-traditional sports

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner tag and run on a foul ball which is caught and dropped?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a runner advance on a dropped pop up in foul territory?

No. On any foul ball that is not caught, the ball is dead and runners may not advance.


Can a runner advance on a foul ball?

If the ball is caught in foul territory, then the runner has the ability to run at their won risk. But if the player drops the ball in foul territory, then the runners have to stay at their respective bases.


If there is a foul tip into the catchers glove and is caught can the runner advance to the next base?

A Foul Tip, which is different than a Foul, is a live ball, and runner's can advance.


Can a runner advance from first or second on a caught foul ball?

Yes, a runner can advance if he tags up.


In major league baseball can a runner tag up and take the next base on a foul ball that is legally caught?

Yes. A runner may tagup and attempt to advance after any fly ball is caught, regardless of whether it is fair or foul.


Can a base runner be thrown out if a foul ball is hit?

Yes, the ball is still considered foul if the a player catches it. They can be thrown out when trying to tag after the fly ball is caught.


There is 1 out with a man on third 2 strikes on the batter The batter attempts a bunt that goes foul behind first base no one catches it the batter is out Can the runner from 3rd base advance?

NO. A runner cannot advance on a foul ball that is not "played" (i.e. if a foul fly ball is CAUGHT, the runner may tag up). A foul bunt on a 2 strike count is a dead ball out.


Is it a sacrifice fly if it is a foul ball and the foul ball is caught?

No. But it is an RBI if a runner scores on the play.But if he doesn't tag up he's out if they throw it to the base he was at.


Runner on base advance after a fly ball catch in foul territory?

yes, but runner must not advance to next base until ball is caught by defensive player.


Can Tipped baseball caught in air can runner advance?

Yes. It would be considered a foul tip not a foul ball. Foul tips are treated as if the hitter never even touched it. In this case a runner may advance at his/her own risk.


Does a base runner need to return and touch his base after the batter hits a foul ball that is not caught?

Yes he does.


Is it an error if the runner and fielder get tangled up and the foul fly ball is dropped by fielder?

No. The runner would be called for interference if, for some reason, he ran into the fielder.


Can a runner on first base steal second on a foul tip?

Foul-tip Rule 2.00 see also; Strike (g) and 6.05(b) There is nothing "FOUL" about a foul-tip. It is a strike and the ball is alive. A foul-tip is the same as a swing and a miss. To be a foul-tip, by rule, the ball must go sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hand or glove AND BE CAUGHT. Confusion arises on this because people commonly call any ball that is tipped or nicked a foul-tip. It is not a foul-tip, by rule, unless the nicked or tipped ball is caught. If it is not caught, it is simply a foul-ball. A foul-ball is a dead ball. A foul-tip (a legally caught nick) is a live ball strike, just like a swing and a miss. Read the rule in the Official Baseball Rules


When a foul ball is hit does a base runner occupying second base have to return and touch that base?

The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit. A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player. To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.


When can a runner advance after a fly ball has been caught?

Any fly ball, fair or foul, is a live ball when it is caught therefore any runners may tag up and advance at their own risk.


Is a base runner out if he touches a ground ball that is in foul territory before the other team?

If the ball is in foul territory and hits a base runner in foul territory then it is a foul ball, so no he would not be out


Can a runner score from third base on a caught fly foul ball with less than two outs?

Yes


What happens to the batter when the ball hits the runner?

If the runner is in fair territory then the runner is out. But if the ball hits the runner in foul territory, then it would just be a foul ball. If the ball hits the runner in fair territory, the runner is out but if the batter is safe to 1st then they would be safe.


Can a runner advance on foul tip to the catchers glove?

Yes. In all rules, a foul tip immediately caught by the catcher is considered exactly like a strike. As such, a base runner is allowed to attempt to steal a base on a foul tip. Note, however, that if the catcher drops a foul tip, it is considered to be a foul ball, and no base runner may advance.


If a runner on first touches second before the pitcher releases the ball must he return to first if the batter fouls off the pitch?

Yes. If the foul ball is caught in the air by a fielder the play is live and the runner may be thown out at first if he does not return in time. If the foul ball hits the ground before being caught, or goes into the stands, it is a dead ball. In either case the player must return to first. He may also tag up at first and advance to second on a foul ball that is caught by a fielder. In addition, if the runner has touched second base and rounded the bag, he must re-touch second before returning to first.


If a runner who is in play is advancing from third and the is hit by a line drive that is called foul is the runner out?

If a runner is in foul territory is hit by a batted ball, it is simply a foul ball and the runner returns to his base. However, if he is in play, he is out.


Can a foul ball ever be a sacrifice fly?

yes, if it is a fly ball and it gets caught, any base runner can try to go to the next base. for example, a runner on third tags up on a fly ball. the right fielder catches it in foul territory. as long as the runner on third is on the base or goes back and touches it after leading off, she can try to steal home.


Can a runner advance if the hitters bat touches the ball and the catcher catches it?

YES if you are playing by MLB rules. In Major League Baseball that situation would result in a FOUL TIP, the pitch is considered a strike, and the ball is in play. According to MLB definitions, "A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catchers hand(glove) and is legally caught." If a batted ball takes a "sharp and direct" path towards the catcher's glove and IS NOT caught then it is a FOUL BALL, the ball is considered "dead", and the runner CAN NOT advance. For example, if a runner attempts to steal second base and as the pitch arrives a FOUL TIP occurs, if the runner is not thrown out, a stolen base is awarded UNLESS the FOUL TIP results in a third strike to make the third out of an inning.


If a player drops a Foul ball is it an error?

Yes. A dropped foul ball can be considered an error if the official scorer deems that the player should have caught the ball. The batter will not reach base in this case. However, if the batter subsequently scores a run, the run will be unearned. Notably, an error on a dropped foul ball would not disrupt a pitcher's attempt to record a perfect game.


Can you steal a base on a foul ball?

An uncaught foul ball is dead. If a foul ball is caught, runners can steal, but have the same tag up responsibilities as a fair caught ball.