answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No runs score on a play when a third out is made and that third out was a force out, period. A batter-runner being put out prior to touching first base is a force out. If there had been only one out with runners at first and third or first and second and third, putting the batter-runner out before he reaches first base ends the force on the other runners, and so if the defense next also got the runner going to second or to third, on a double-play, the runner from third crossing home before that third out would count, because the third out was not a force out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-04-29 19:36:03
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner on 3B score on 2 outs if he crosses the plate before the shortstop throws out the batter at first base fielding ground ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a runner from third base score if the batter is tagged out for the third out?

If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.


How do you get a force -play in baseball?

Lets say there is a man on first base, and the batter gets an infield ground hit that is picked off by the shortstop. The shortstop throws the ball to the 2nd baseman who steps on 2nd base before the runner a at 1st can reach it. This is a force out as the 2nd baseman does not have to tag the incoming runner. If the shortstop caught the ball before the ball hit the ground and can throw the ball to the 1st baseman before the runner at 1st can get back and put his foot on the bag, then that would also would be a force out.


Does the runner score from third if batter tries to stretch a single and gets thrown out at second base?

If there are less than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, this is a timing play. If the runner crosses home plate before the batter is thrown out at second base, the run counts. If the batter is thrown out at second base before the runner crosses home plate, the run does not count.


If a ball bounces before it crosses the plate and hits a batter is that a walk?

No it is a hits batsmen. The batter gets first base and the ball is ruled dead. Everyone who is forced moves up one base.


Runners are on 3rd and 1st. The ball is hit to the 2nd baseman. The shortstop covers the bag and the batter reaches 1st before the throw reaches 1st base. The runner at 3rd scores. Is it an at bat?

Yes. The batter would be credited with an at bat and an RBI.


What position did Derek Jeter play before Alex Rodriguez joined the New York Yankees?

Derek Jeter always played shortstop, and still continues to play shortstop for the Yankees. Alex Rodriguez was an accomplished shortstop before coming to the Yankees where he now plays third base


Who was the New York Yankees shortstop before Derek Jeter?

Tony Fernandez. Jeter took over at shortstop in the 1996 season. Fernandez started 103 games at shortstop in 1995, his only season with the team. Kevin Elster also played shortstop for the 1995 Yankees.


If a runner from third crosses home before fielder tags runner running from first on batted ball does run count?

If you mean that there are already two outs, then, no, the run does not count. Any time the batter is put out before reaching 1st base, it is considered a force out. Therefore, no run counts on a play where the batter makes the 3rd out before reaching 1st base.


Are there any exceptions where a run scores on a play in which the third out is made?

Yes. If a runner crosses home plate before the third out is made (unless it's a force out), the run counts. For example, say the Yankees have runner on third with two outs. The batter hits a ball to the gap in right center. The runner scores, but the batter is thrown out at third trying to stretch a double into a triple. Since the runner on third crossed home plate before the batter was out at third, the run counts. On a force play (at any base) the runner would not be allowed to score even if he crosses the plate before the force is made.


2 outs runner on 3b and 1b and batter hits grounder to 2nd who tags runner instead of the base does the run count since both batter and 3b touched before tag?

Yes. On a tag play, if a runner crosses home plate before another runner is tagged for the third out the run counts.


Can a batter that hits a home run be called out if his team mates touch him before he touches homplate?

No, but he still must touch home plate. The runners and batter are not "automatically in"when an "out-of-the-park"home run is hit. The runs aren't scored until each crosses home.


Can a pitched ball hit the ground before it crosses home plate?

A pitched ball can hit the ground before crossing home-plate. In most cases the batter would not swing and the pitch would be called a ball. But, if the batter decides the swing, the ball is still in play after hitting the ground and the batter may not hit the ball and receive a strike, or he may foul the ball, or hit a base-hit.


Does run count if crosses plate before third out at first?

The run doesn't count if the out at first is a force out, if the batter overruns first base and is tagged out in an attempt to get back to first then the run would count.


What is the difference between a curve ball and a slider?

A curveball is generally slower than a slider, and curves diagonally as it approaches the batter. The slider shifts suddenly horizontally, usually right before it crosses the plate.


Who played shortstop for the New York Yankees before Mark Koenig?

Paul Wanninger in 1925 ... Koenig took over for Wanninger in 1926 and was the Yankees shortstop through early 1930 when he was traded to the Tigers.


Does a run score on a fielders choice when a runner crosses home plate before the force out is recorded?

If the third out is a force play or a fly out, a run can not score, no matter how soon a runner crosses home before that third out. If the batter hits the ball over the outfielder's head with runners on first and third, and the runner on first constantly slips and falls as he runs to second, the fact that the batter got to first and the runner on third got home several seconds before the runner going to second was forced out, is just too bad. It's still a force out, and no run scores.


Does the run count when a batter bunts and the runner on third scores before the first baseman tags the batter for the third out?

No, because the third out was made on the same play. It is no different than if the batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop or any other infielder and is thrown out at first base for the third out. However, if there are two outs and there is a runner on third and the batter hits a single into left field but is thrown out at second when attempting to turn the play into a double and the runner on third makes it home before the third out at second is recorded, the run does count. Hope that isn't too confusing.


When attempting to throw out a runner at second base who takes the throw?

That would depend on 'who' is trying to throw the runner out. This answer will assume the questioner is asking about a stolen base and the 'who' is the catcher. The defensive player that covers second base on a steal attempt is the player that the defense believes is on the side of the field that the ball will NOT be hit to. Factors that go into this decision are whether the batter is righthanded or lefthanded, where the pitcher is going to pitch the ball (inside or outside), and how good of a batter the player is (whether they can hit the ball to all fields, whether they are a pull hitter). Generally, if the batter is righthanded and the pitcher is going to pitch inside the odds are better, if the batter makes contact with the ball, that it will be hit to the left side of the field. In this case, it will be the second baseman's responsibility to cover the base if the runner attempts to steal. If the batter is lefthanded and the pitcher is going to pitch inside the odds are better, if the batter makes contact with the ball, that it will be hit to the right side of the field. In this case, it will be the shortstop's responsibility to cover the base if the runner attempts a steal. The decision of who will cover second base on a steal attempt is made before every pitch. On one pitch the second baseman may be the player to cover and on the next pitch the shortstop may be the player to cover. If you are at a game, you may notice when a player is on first base that the second baseman will put his glove up to his face and look at the shortstop just before a pitch is made. The second baseman is giving a signal to the shortstop as to who will cover second base on a steal attempt. Usually, the signal is an open mouth or closed mouth. If the second baseman looks at the shortstop and his mouth is open, this means the second baseman will be the player to cover if a steal is attempted; if the mouth is closed the shortstop will cover. Or vice versa ... it all depends on how the team has set up their signals.


Is a runner out if he is touched on the helmet before he crosses home plate?

Yes.


How many miles before a rocket passes through the earths atmosphere?

250 miles before it crosses the atmosphere


Why should you cream your cake batter before baking?

You should cream your cake batter before mixing because it makes the batter creamier and tastier for most people anyway!


Is Serge Ibaka a christian?

Yes he is. He crosses himself before entering the game.


What is the last bridge that crosses the river Thames before the sea?

Tower Bridge


Does the runner at third run scored count when there is one out and batter hits into a double play?

The only way that run would count is if it were not a continuous double play... For example, if the batter grounds into a routine double play, the run does not score... but if the batter were to fly out and another runner tries to tag up, and advance from 1st the second, or from 2nd to 3rd, and is thrown out in the process, as long as the runner for 3rd crosses home plate before the out is recorded, it counts. To simplify the answer a bit... If the double play occurs with both outs being recorded on force outs, no run scores. If there are multiple outs recorded, but are not force outs, the run scores as long as the runner crosses before the out is recorded.


What does batter mean in cooking?

A batter is a somewhat thin mixture of wet and dry ingredients. Examples of batter are cornbread batter, cake batter and batter made for breading meats before frying.