That depends on the angle the ball travelled. If the receiver is behind or exactly to the side of the quarterback and the ball travels at an angle parallel to or away from the line of scrimmage, the throw is considered a lateral and would be a fumble if the receiver did not catch it. If the receiver is in front of the quarterback and the ball travels at an angle towards the line of scrimmage, the throw is considered a forward pass and would be an incomplete pass.
He doesn't. He can throw to any eligible receiver, which also includes tight ends and running backs.
A wide out is another name for a wide receiver. A wide receiver lines up on offense and can either be out close to the side lines or in between another receiver and the offensive line, this is known as the "slot". A receiver runs and tries to get into an open area of the field so the Quarterback and throw him the football.
If there is a receiver in the area of where the ball lands, then yes. If there is no receiver there, it is a penalty.
American football rules dictate that there can be only one forward pass per play. Should the quarterback throw a forward pass that is deflected by another player he may catch the ball but may not attempt another forward pass.
Yes, they can. If the quarterback throws a forward pass to the half back and the half back is still behind the line of srimmage, the half back can throw another forward pass.
no the receiver can not pass the ball after catching it. hence the name "receiver" he only receives passes and does not throw them Actually the answer above is wrong, if say the quarterback throws the ball backwards or laterally then the receiver can then throw the ball. There is no rule on WHO throws the ball, only that there is one forward pass per play and it must come from behind the line of scrimmage.
if the ball doesn't cross the line of scrimmage
A sack is when the quarterback is tackled behind the line of scrimmage before he can throw a forward pass/lateral. Tackling the quarterback behind the lime of scrimmage on a running play is not considered a sack.
5, with 11 players total 5 are linemen who are not eligible and the quarterback has to throw. That leaves 5. The quarterback is also considered an eligible receiver. The correct answer is 6.
make sure you have a set of pads that are for a quarterback, or wide receiver, they allow more shoulder movement
Yes, as long as the quarterback doesn't pass the line of scrimmage. Once past the line of scrimmage, you cannot pass the ball forward