Best Answer

The pitcher can re-enter the game as a pitcher later in the game if he is taken out with no trips to the mound or after one trip. If he is taken out after the second trip to the mound he can re-enter the game in any position except for pitcher..

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2013-07-11 22:02:20
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a pitcher that has to leave the mound from the two visit rule play shortstop and come back in to pitch the next inning?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many times can a coach go to the pitcher's mound before the pitcher has to leave the game in dixie youth baseball?

I'n most Dixie leagues, the coach may visit the mound twice in an inning before the pitcher must be replaced

A good-hitting pitcher bats for the shortstop. When his team takes the field the pitcher goes to the mound and a new shortstop enters the game. Does the new shortstop bat in the old shortstop's spot?

No, the pitcher would bat in the shortstop's spot and the shortstop would bat in the pitcher's/designated hitter's spot. According to MLB rule (6.10b), once a player bats for any player in the batting order and then enters the game as the pitcher, the designated hitter is no longer in effect.

What is the shape pitcher's mound?

The pitcher's mound is circular.

Can two different coaches visit the mound in the same inning with out pulling the pitcher?

No. The team gets one visit to the mound per inning and on the second visit, the pitcher must be replaced. It doesn't make any difference what coach makes the visit.

How many times can a coach go to the pitcher's mound before the pitcher has to leave the game?

A coach can go to the mound as many times as he likes in a game. he can only go a few times per inning.The pitcher doesnt have to be removed. If the manager goes to the mound twice in one inning the pitcher must be removed from the gameNot correct.Baseball rule 8.06 is VERY clear that a visit by either the manager OR a coach can only occur twice in an inning before the pitcher must be removed:8.06 A professional league shall adopt the following rule pertaining to the visit of the manager or coach to the pitcher:(a) This rule limits the number of trips a manager or coach may make to any one pitcher in any one inning;(b) A second trip to the same pitcher in the same inning will cause this pitcher's automatic removal;

Why pitcher have higher mound?

A pitcher has a high mound because he can get some velocity.

Pitchers mound in softball?

There is a pitcher's circle but no actual mound of dirt. There is a pitcher's circle but no actual mound of dirt.

How high is the pitcher's mound in college baseball?

What is the height of the pitcher's mound in college baseball

Who is charged with the visit to the mound when pitchers are changed?

Not sure I understand the question. The defensive team's manager or any member of the coaching staff can go to the mound to talk to a pitcher. When the second visit of an inning occurs to a particular pitcher, that pitcher must be taken out of the game. Visits to the mound are credited to the team and not the manager or a specific coach.

What sport is there a mound?

The sport of baseball has a pitcher's mound.

Who stands on the mound in baseball?

The Pitcher stands on the mound.

Does the same pitcher have to be removed on the second timeout if the coach proceeds to the umpire to make defensive change including the pitcher?

I am not sure if the following will help. When the second trip to the mound happens in the same inning the pitcher has to be replaced. on a timeout no... u dont have to change the pitcher... if it is the 2nd "Mound Visit" with the coach on the mound yes. when only a catcher is talking to the catcehr or anyone already on the field it doesnt count. it is not considered a mound visit until the coach steps over the foul line. if there are 2 mound visits in in 2 different innings for the same pitcher u can remain on the mound

People also asked