answersLogoWhite

0

Can a pawn check a king?

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2013-06-17 10:45:30

Best Answer

Yes, a pawn can put a king into check.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2013-06-17 10:45:30
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Can you castle through check

What is the notation of kingside castling

What is step 1

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a pawn check a king?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In chess can a pawn capture a king?

No, a pawn can not check or checkmate a king.


Can a pawn check the king in chess?

Yes , the pawn has the power and ability to place the opponent's king in check .


Can a pawn get a king into check?

yes


Can a pawn be promoted and deliver check in one move?

Yes , once the pawn is promoted and assumes the power of the promoted piece and the king is subsequently in check once the pawn is promoted then the king would be in check .


Can a king kill a pawn in chess?

Absolutely, as long as it does not put the king in check.


In chess can a pawn capture a queen?

Yes, a pawn may capture any piece on the board as long as it is a legal move. One way it could happen is the pawn is blocking lets say a Bishop or a Rook from attacking the opponent's king. The pawn moves to a square where it attacks the Queen. Normally the Queen would either just capture the pawn or move away from it. But if the move of the pawn now places the king in check from that Bishop or Rook (this is called a discovered check) the King must move out of check. If the player now in check has no alternative but to move the King out of check, then once he moves the king, the pawn is free to capture the Queen.


When a pawn promotes to the other side can say check prior to naming the piece the pawn will be?

No , only upon the pawn's promotion to a piece that then checks the king may you then say "check" .


Can a pawn capture a King in the game of chess?

Technically, the king is never actually "captured" in chess. That said, a pawn can certainly be used to put a king in "check", though unless the pawn is protected by some other piece the king can simply capture the pawn on its next move.


How do you use a pawn to checkmate a king in chess?

The pawn can checkmate the king but only in conjunction with at least one other piece to protect the pawn from capture by the king and at least one enemy piece placed near the king so that it cuts off any escape avenues the king would have. If a pawn places a king in check and the king is completely surrounded by his own pieces in such a way that its only move would be capture the pawn and if no enemy piece is placed so that it can capture that pawn and if the pawn is protected from capture by one of its own pieces, the pawn has checkmated the king.


Can a pawn kill a king if the king moves in to the position with out calling check?

According to the rules of chess, you cannot move your own king into the check position.


When is it not to your advantage to promote your rook in shogi?

For example if you want to drop a pawn to check the king but not to mate him (you cannot mate with pawn drops).


Can a king capture a pawn?

Yes, the king can capture a pawn.

People also asked