answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, IF it promotes(reaches the other side of the board) into one. You can also promote your pawn to a rook, bishop, or knight, but not a king.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-10-06 20:18:08
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Can you castle through check

What is the notation of kingside castling

What is step 1

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a pawn become a queen in chess?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is queen a verb?

Queen is typically a noun, but it could possibly be used as a verb if you are referring to a game such as chess, where a pawn can become a queen... you could say "queen me" when your pawn reaches the appropriate position.


Chess if a pawn gets to the end of the chess board get you get a new queen if you already have one?

Once a pawn reaches the last rank the pawn can be promoted to any piece except the king . Yes , if you already have a queen the pawn can be promoted to another queen .


In chess what happens when a pawn makes it across the board?

It promotes. It will then become either a queen, rook, bishop, or a knight. The pawn is removed from the board of course!


Can you get your queen back in chess?

When your pawn reaches the end of the board


In chess can you sacrifice a pawn for a queen?

That would be an ecumenical matter.


In chess when a piece crosses the chess board do you get your queen back?

Only the pawn can be promoted to another chess piece once the pawn reaches the 8th rank . The pawn can not be promoted to a king .The rules only allow the pawn to be promoted upon the eighth rank . At that time the pawn can then be promoted to a queen or any other chess piece with the sole exception of the king .


When promoting a pawn to a bishop in chess what color does it become?

When promoting a pawn in chess, it stays the same color it was to start with.


What is the chess piece on the Breaking Dawn cover?

Queen A pawn is at the back


When a pawn in chess becomes a queen does it move another turn immediately?

No. Promoting your pawn counts as your move.


In chess when a pawn crosses the chess board do you get your queen back when its out?

A pawn promotion is not 'getting back' a piece that was lost, it is simply gaining a new piece. You can have a second Queen even if you still have your first.


When you get queen in chess back where do you place it?

When a pawn is promoted to Queen , or any other piece besides the King , the square upon which the pawn was promoted is where the Queen will be placed .


Can the king in chess get a queen back?

No, only a pawn can be promoted to a queen or other piece of choice.

People also asked