Best Answer

A left handed pitcher can fake a throw to first base so long as the pitcher disengages the pitching rubber with the pivot foot (in this case, the left foot) prior to feigning the throw.

If a left handed pitcher feigns a throw without disengaging the rubber, it is considered a balk.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-05-11 15:26:20
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a left handed pitcher fake a pickoff throw to first base?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Does the pitcher have to throw the ball to a base on a pickoff move?

He cannot throw to teammate that is not near a base, but he does not have to throw the ball to second or third, if a teammate is not there.

What is the basic rule on a pitch or pickoff throw that goes out of play?

If the balls goes out of play on a pickoff throw, the runner is only allowed one base.

Can a pitcher throw right and left handed to same batter?


Who was the first pitcher to throw 90mph?

who was first MLP pitcher to throw 90mph

Can a left handed pitcher throw to third base without stepping off the rubber?

The pitcher can throw to 3rd with a jump pivot , but he has to throw, he cannot jump pivot and fake a throw.

Does a left handed pitcher have to throw to first base on a pick off move with the only runner on 1st base?

no duhhh

Can a right handed pitcher step off the rubber and then fake a throw to first base?

as long as you step off of the rubber you are safe to do anything you want, except throw home. It would not be a balk.

Who was the first left-handed pitcher to throw a no-hitter?

Lee Richmond of the Worcester Ruby Legs on 6/12/1880, and it was a good one - it was also the first perfect game.

Does pitchers back foot have to break contact with rubber for him to throw to first?

No. Remember there are left handed pitchers and right handed pitchers. Almost every umpire will declare a right handed pitcher to have balked if his foot doesn't disengage from the rubber when he throws to first. A left handed pitcher simply steps and throws to first. His back foot usually never disengages from the rubber. To over simplify - a pitcher is called for a balk when the umpire judges the pitcher to have deceived the runner in some way. So, anytime a baulk is called, an umpire made a judgement call.

Can a pitcher feint to throw to first?


Can a pitcher fake a throw to 3rd base?

yes, the only base a pitcher cant fake a throw to is first

For wii how do you get a left-handed pitcher to pitch going to the ground?

If I remember correctly, you hold A and B and throw the ball.

People also asked