answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, the goalkeeper cannot touch the ball directly after a teammate has kicked it to him. The presence of an opponent in the penalty area is irrelevant. The Laws of the Game do not make accommodations for bad play or poor strategy.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-01-30 19:16:15
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Convert this number to scientific notation

An arrow is shot straight up at an initial velocity of 250 ms How long will it take to hit the ground

Convert this number to scientific notation 278000

What is the metric system prefix for the quantity 0.001

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
3.14
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
7 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a goalkeeper touch the ball that passed by teammate when an opponent is in the penalty box?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a soccer goal keeper bring the ball back into the goal area and pick it up?

I believe you mean the penalty area. The goal area is the smaller rectangle. If the ball was passed to the goalkeeper by a teammate with their foot then this is an indirect free kick offense. In all other cases this is allowable.


A sentence with the word passed?

i passed the ball to my teammate


Can a goal keeper pick up the ball within the area if he himself kicked it into the area from the field?

Yes. A goalkeeper can dribble the ball back into the penalty area and pick it up. However, this is not the case if the ball was passed to him by a teammate (back pass), or if he has (for example) thrown the ball outside of the penalty area only to dribble it back in (double touch), or in any other case specifically disallowed by the laws.


Sentence for teammate?

I am very proud of my teammate, _________.


What is the penalty when a goalkeeper mistakenly touches the ball with his hands when the ball is passed to him by one of his own players?

If their team mate passed the ball deliberately, with their feet, and the goal keeper then touches it with their hands within their own penalty area, then an indirect free kick is awarded to the opponents at the place where the goal keeper handled it.


Can you head back to goalkeeper?

Yes. One of the stipulations with the rule that forbids goalkeepers from handling the ball after it has been passed to him/her by a teammate is that it must have been a deliberate pass by the foot. It could be headed, shouldered, chested, etc. as long as the pass was not deliberately made by the foot (or hand).


Can the goal keeper touch a ball passed to him by a teammate?

No. The back-pass rule refers to two clauses within Law 12 of the Laws of the Game of football (soccer). These clauses prohibit the goalkeeper from intentionally handling the ball when a team-mate uses his/her feet or a throw-in to pass them the ball.The actual offence committed is the handling of the ball by the goalkeeper, not the ball being passed or thrown back. An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team from the place where the offence occurred, i.e., where the goalkeeper deliberately handled the ball (unless the offence was committed within the goal area, in which case the kick is taken from a point on the forward edge of the goal area closest to where the offence occurred).AnswerHe cannot touch it with his hands (pick it up) but he can head or kick it without penalty.


What are the offside rules of Soccer?

If a player of a team is on the other side of the field behind all the players (or behind the defenders) but still in front of the goalie, then this person is in an offside position. This, however, is NOT offside. It is not against the law of soccer to be in an offside position. Now say that person is in an offside position and his/her teammate passed the ball to him/her and that person plays or touches the ball, that is considered offside. That is illegal in the law of soccer. Say the other teammate passed the ball to his/her teammate in an offside position but the person doesn't make a move to go for the ball, then that isn't considered offsides, and therefor is not considered illegal in the law of soccer. A player in an offside position is only penalised if, at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of their team, they are , in the opinion of the referee, involved in active play by: > interfering with play > interfering with an opponent > gaining an advantage by being in that position In doing this the attacking player will between the last defender and the defending goalkeeper when the ball is played to them . If the attacking player is in line with a defending player (not the goalkeeper) then no offside offence has been committed


What are the rules of offside in soccer?

If a player of a team is on the other side of the field behind all the players (or behind the defenders) but still in front of the goalie, then this person is in an offside position. This, however, is NOT offside. It is not against the law of soccer to be in an offside position. Now say that person is in an offside position and his/her teammate passed the ball to him/her and that person plays or touches the ball, that is considered offside. That is illegal in the law of soccer. Say the other teammate passed the ball to his/her teammate in an offside position but the person doesn't make a move to go for the ball, then that isn't considered offsides, and therefor is not considered illegal in the law of soccer. A player in an offside position is only penalised if, at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of their team, they are , in the opinion of the referee, involved in active play by: > interfering with play > interfering with an opponent > gaining an advantage by being in that position In doing this the attacking player will between the last defender and the defending goalkeeper when the ball is played to them . If the attacking player is in line with a defending player (not the goalkeeper) then no offside offence has been committed


What is the 18 yard box for on a football pitch?

This is typically called the penalty area and serves two purposes. 1) Inside this area the goalkeeper can play the ball with his hands (unless it is passed directly to him by a teammate), and 2) If the defensive team commits a foul which would ordinarily result in a Direct Free Kick for the offense, the offensive team is instead given a Penalty Kick. This is a one-on-one kick where one player from the offensive team (not necessarily the one who got fouled), places the ball on a mark 12 yards away from the goalie and gets to take a shot.


What does assist mean in ice hockey?

You were one of the last 2 people who passed the puck to your teammate who scored.


When passing a ball to a teammate that is moving where should the ball be passed?

You should pass it in front of him.00 ..= ball

People also asked