Best Answer

No because the parts of the body in the box, the goal keeper can touch. If the goal keepers hands are out the box they cant touch it.

when the 'keeper's hands in contact with the ball were inside or on the penalty area line, then no infringement occurred and no verbal announcement of any sort is necessary by the Referee or Assistant. There is no hand ball even if the rest of the keeper is outside the penalty area.

If kicking from hand by the goal keeper and the ball is released but then crosses outside the penalty area then again no infringement. However, the officials must be vigilant that the ball was indeed released before crossing the white line. If however,the ball was not released until after the goalkeeper's hands were outside the penalty area, then the proper restart is a direct free kick, not an indirect free kick.

And, to just clarify, there is no such thing as "a possibility of a sending off for deliberate hand ball" unless the goalkeeper handled the ball outside his penalty area to prevent it from going into the net.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-05-11 09:58:30
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Convert this number to scientific notation

An arrow is shot straight up at an initial velocity of 250 ms How long will it take to hit the ground

Convert this number to scientific notation 278000

What is the metric system prefix for the quantity 0.001

See all cards
7 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a goalkeeper catch the ball outside the box if his feet are inside?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Can a goalkeeper catch a ball that is in the air outside his box if his her feet remain inside?

No, the only thing that matters is where the ball is, if the ball is outside the box and he catches it, but his feet are inside the box, it is still hand ball.

If a goalkeeper advances from goal and misses the ball but while he has gone outside the area he manages to gather the ball which is inside?

it is not a handball as long as the ball is inside the penalty box.

Can a goalkeeper inside the penalty area use his hand to touch a ball outside the penalty area?

No. It doesn't matter where the goalkeeper is.The ballmust be in the penalty area (on the line is inside) for the keeper to touch it.

Can a goalkeeper move the ball from outside of the penalty area to the inside with his foot and then pick it up?

if it was not a pass back then he's allowed

Is the goalkeeper allowed to kick the ball outside circle?


Can the goalkeeper pick up the ball?

Only inside the box.

Why does a goalkeeper need good balance?

because they can fall over when they try to catch the ball or pass the ball!

Can a goalkeeper handle the ball outside the box if one of his feet is the box?

No, he can't

In soccer can a goalkeeper kick the ball from outside and pick it up by hands?

It depends on how the goalkeeper received it. If the goalkeeper received it from a deliberate kick or a throw-in by a team-mate, then no. Otherwise, yes.

In football - can the goalkeeper be tackled inside the six-yard-box?

You tackle the ball, not a player.

Can a goalkeeper touch with his hands a ball that is outside his box although his feet are inside the box?

No. When determining whether a goalkeeper may touch a ball with his hands, only the position of the ball matters. If the ball had not crossed (or touched the plane above) the boundary of the goalkeeper's own penalty area, it would be considered deliberate handling, The restart would be a direct free kick at the location of the handling. The goalkeeper might be cautioned if the act prevented the development of a promising goal scoring opportunity in the opinion of the referee. The goalkeeper might be sent off if the ball would have entered the net if not for the handling (and without being touched again by any player) in the referee's opinion.

Is it a direct free kick if the goalkeeper handles the ball outside the box?

Yes, it is treated as deliberate handling.

People also asked