Want this question answered?

Be notified when an answer is posted

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a fielder intentionally use his foot to stop a fair ball?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What is it called in basketball when a player intentionally makes contact with the ball using their foot?

Kick ball

How is a foul ball determined?

A Fair ball is any ball that either 1)lands in fair territory in the outfield (including hitting the wall) 2) hits or bounces over first or third base 3) leaves the park between the foul poles or hitting the foul poles (home run) 4) is first touched by a fielder in fair territory 5)stops moving with being touched in fair territory, and 6) did not hit the batter. Any ball that is not fair, is foul.

If a fielder has one foot in fair territory and one in foul territory and drops a fly ball is it fair or foul?

The "fairness" of the ball depends on the rules in that particular stadium. In the 2004 playoffs a ball hit the catwalk in Houston in fair territory and was caught in fair territory, but was ruled foul, because of the rules at minute maid park. On the other hand in Minnesota, a ball atriking the catwalk is automatically fair whether it lands in fair territory or not.

How can a center fielder get a double play without ever touching the ball?

On an offensive standpoint, I'll say if the center fielder grounds out while there is at least one base runner directly at the next bag. On defense, if the center fielder catches the ball with their glove and runs to a base in which the base runner did not "tag up" or keep their foot on the bag while they were waiting for the ball to be caught. If that's considered touching the ball, then I'm not sure :)

Is the runner safe when the fielder knocks down the ball when it is hit to first base and while he is on the ground with the ball in his left hand the player touches first base with his glove only?

I assume the question means the fielder is on the ground (floor?) either case, the fielder legally tagged the base while holding the ball firmly and the batter is out. See definition of "tag" in baseball rules. It is the same as the firstbaseman touching (tagging) first with his foot while the ball is in his glove. This would not be true if the runner is not forced, in which case the fielder must tag the runner with the ball held firmly in his hand or glove.

Can a fielder make a legal catch if both feet are totally in out of play area with ball clearly in play if feet are on line one foot totally in play?

MLB Rule 6.05(a) states: "A fielder may reach into, but not step into, a dugout to make a catch, and if he holds the ball, the catch shall be allowed. A fielder, in order to make a catch on a foul ball nearing a dugout or other out-of-play area (such as the stands), must have one or both feet on or over the playing surface (including the lip of the dugout) and neither foot on the ground inside the dugout or in any other out-of-play area. Ball is in play, unless the fielder, after making a legal catch, falls into a dugout or other out-of-play area, in which case the ball is dead." As long as neither foot is on the ground in the out-of-play area, the catch is good.

What is the ball in your foot?

ball of foot means a ball has a foot stuck. to it so there is a diffrens beetween foot ball and ball foot. foot ball is a game with a ball. but ball of foot is when the foot is stuck to the ball! get it?

Is a pitch legal if a defensive player has 1 foot in foul territory at the time of the pitch?

The location of the fielder's body has no bearing on whether a ball is fair or foul. It is the location of the ball when it is touched by the fielder or when it goes by the base that determines whether it is fair or foul.

If the ball is in fair territory and you kick it and have one foot in batters box are you out?

The batter would be out. However, if both feet were in the batter's box, then the batter would not be out and it would be ruled a foul ball.

Pitcher fields ball on the 1st baseline runner runs into pitcher - pitcher throws ball to first is the runner safe or out?

The runner is probably out for interference by running into a fielder, if not, he is out if the throw to first beat the runner and the first baseman, or whom ever is covering first, had his foot on the bag when he received the ball.

What are the 19 ways a batter can be declared out?

I don't know how many times, I've answered this on other pages but it's always fun. Here is the official ruling right from the MLB Rules Book. Rule 6 - The Batter Rule 6.05 (a) Hits fair or foul ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder ( PO at 1st) (b) A third strike is legally caught by the catcher. (c) A third strike is not caught by the catcher when the first base is occupied before two are out; (d) Bunts foul on third strike; (e) An Infield Fly is declared; (f) He attempts to hit a third strike and the ball touches him. (g) His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder; (h) After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat anther ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire's judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the ball is alive and in play; (i) After hitting or bunting a fall ball, he intentionally deflects the course of the ball in any manner while running to first base. The ball is dead and no runners may advance; (j) After a third strike o after he hits a fair ball, he or the fist bas is tagged before he touches first base; (k) In running the last half o the distance from home base to first bas, while the ball is behind fielded to first base, runs outside the three foot line or inside the foul line and tin the umpire's judgment in so doing interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base in which case the ball is dead; except that he may run outside the three foot line or inside the foul line to avoid a fielder attempting to field a batted ball. (l) An infielder intestinally drops a fair fly ball or line drive with first, first and second, first and third, or first, second and third base occupied before two are out. The ball is dead and runner or runners shall return to their original base or bases; (m) A preceding runner shall, in the umpires judgment intentionally interfere with a fielder who is attempt to catch a thrown ball or to throw a ball in an attempt to complete an y play (n) With tow out, a runner on third base and two strikes on the batter, the runner attempts to steal home base on a legal pitch and the ball touches the runner in the batter's strike zone. The umpire shall call Strike Three the batter is out and the run shall not count; before two are out, the umpire shall call Strike Three the ball is dead and the run counts. BUT WAITE THERE IS MORE......Rule 6.06 See your major league rules book from the MLB web page for more rules.

Is the Batter out if he bunts the ball fair with his foot touching the line of the Batter Boxs in baseball?

MLB rule 6.06 states: A batter is out for illegal action when- He hits a ball with one or both feet on the ground entirely outside the batter's box. Comment: If a batter hits a ball fair or foul while out of the batter's box, he shall be called out.