answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. If a batter attempts a bunt when there are two strikes and the bunt is ruled foul, the batter is called out and a strikeout is awarded to the pitcher's stats.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-07-31 13:35:37
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter be called out on a bunted ball that goes foul?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a batter be out on a third strike foul ball?

No, but if it was two strikes, then he bunted a foul, then he would be out


Is the batter out if a bunted ball hits him?

it depends on the situation. If the count is two strikes then it is an out because if the batter is insied the box then it is a fould ball and a two strike foul ball on a bunt attempt is an out. If there is one strike or zero strikes then the batter can be called out or a foul ball. If he is still in the batter's box and the ball touches him then it is a fould ball but if the batter is outside the batter's box and the ball touches him, then he is out.


What happens if the ball is 'bunted' on the 3rd strike in softball?

If the ball stays in fair territory, then everything is like a normal bunt. But if the ball is bunted into foul territory on a third strike, then the batter is automatically out.


Can a bunted ball be foul first?

A bunted ball can be fair, it just depends on where the ball is when it is fielded by the fielder.


Is there a thing called rolling foul in baseball?

Yea. It usually happens if a player bunts the ball and the ball rolls foul after being bunted.


This happens if you bunt with two strikes and it goes foul?

You are called out as soon as a ball is bunted foul if that is the considered 3rd strike...


What is a bunted ball?

A "bunt" is a ball batted into the infield by the batter while holding the bat sideways between his hands. This is a deliberately short hit that is designed to advance a runner and not gain first base for the batter. A bunted ball that rolls foul is considered a strike, even if it is the third strike.


When a bunted ball bounces up after hit with the bat and then hits the batter as he starts to run what is the call?

By convention and interpretation, it depends on where the batter is when he is hit with a batted fair ball. If he's still got a foot in the batter's box, it's ruled a foul ball. If he's out of the box, the ball is dead and the batter-runner is out. (The batter's box is partially in fair and partially in foul territory.)


Is a bunted foul third strike a dead ball?

Yes.


How many foul balls are allowed before a batter is out?

There is no limit to the number of fouls in the MLB.The only rules about foul balls is if a batter attempts to bunt with two strikes and the ball is bunted foul, the batter is called out. But there is no limit to the number of foul balls a batter can hit when swinging at the pitch.This is true. However, the first 2 foul balls that are hit and not caught are considered strikes. After that, there is no limit to the amount of foul balls that can be hit, as long as they're not caught.


Why is the batter out when he bunts foul with two strikes?

It is an attempt to speed up the game to have a ball bunted foul after two strikes called an out, since it is relatively easy to make contact with the ball on a bunt and bunts are often fouled off it only stands to reason that this would be true. I'm sure there are other reasons, but, I believe this is the main reason.


Can you be called out on four foul balls?

Only if 1) the fourth foul is caught in the air, or 2) the fourth foul is bunted foul.


Is batter out if bunted foul tip is caught by the catcher?

Only if it is on the third strike would the batter be out if he swung through the ball. Otherwise it would just be a strike. If it was a true bunt attempt and the ball did not go directly into the catchers mitt but was deflected up a bit, the batter would be out on any strike.


If a batted ball hits the batter is he out?

If the ball hits the batter in fair territory, the batter is ruled out. If the ball hits the batter in foul territory or the batter's box, the call is a foul ball.


The umpire calls a ball batted behind homeplate a foul ball. The ball spins back onto homeplate without being touched. Is the ball fair or foul?

If the ball landed behind home plate, it is already a foul ball, even if it rolls back into fair territory. If the batter already has 2 strikes and then the ball is bunted foul, it's an out. The above answer is wrong. If a batted ball lands behind home plate but rolls forward and settles on the plate or in front of the plate, it is a fair ball.


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


Who gets credit for an out when a bunted ball hits the batter?

If the runner is in foul territory when the ball hits him, it is a foul ball. If it is a 2 strike bunt attempt, then the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. If the runner is in fair territory the credit would then go to the pitcher, who was the last fielder to touch the ball. My question, then, would be is it an assist or a putout? That answer I do not know.


If a player is the dead ball area and reaches into foul territory and catches the foul ball is the batter out?

A batter is out anytime a fielder catches a foul fly ball.


Can a pitcher get down on his hands and knees and blow a bunted ball foul before it comes to a stop?

yes


A bunted ball hits home plate first then rolls into fair territory is it fair or foul?

its fair


Batter hits a pitch and the ball bounces and hits the batter is he out?

If the batter is in fair territory, the batter is out. If the batter is not in fair territory, for example the batter is still in the batter's box, the ball is called foul.


Is batters box fair territory?

NO, if the ball bounces in the batter's box the hit is automatically called a foul ball.


Is it a fair or a foul ball if the ball is hit and lands in the batter box?

Foul. It has to go beyond the batter's box to be a fair ball


What is a foul ball in baseball?

When a batter hits a ball but it goes outside the white lines (these line up with 3rd and 1st base)it is called a "foul ball" and it counts as a strike. However if the batter already has 2 strikes it does not count as anything because you can not "strike out" on a foul ball. You cannot have a foul ball on a bunt attempt if you have two strikes, however, as that is considered an out.


Is a batter out if a bunted ball hits the bat in fair territory for a second time?

That is a judgment decision to be made by the umpire. MLB Rule 6.5(H) states a batter is out when: "After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire's judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the ball is alive and in play; Rule 6.05(h) Comment: If a bat breaks and part of it is in fair territory and is hit by a batted ball or part of it hits a runner or fielder, play shall continue and no interference be called. If batted ball hits part of broken bat in foul territory, it is a foul ball. If a whole bat is thrown into fair territory and interferes with a defensive player attempting to make a play, interference shall be called, whether intentional or not. In cases where the batting helmet is accidentally hit with a batted or thrown ball, the ball remains in play the same as if it has not hit the helmet. If a batted ball strikes a batting helmet or any other object foreign to the natural ground while on foul territory, it is a foul ball and the ball is dead. If, in the umpire's judgment, there is intent on the part of a baserunner to interfere with a batted or thrown ball by dropping the helmet or throwing it at the ball, then the runner would be out, the ball dead and runners would return to last base legally touched." The umpire must judge whether the batter intention dropped the bat in an area where it could be touched by the bunted ball. If the umpire ruled the batter did drop the bat in an area where the bunted ball would touch it, the batter is called out, otherwise, the ball is live and in play.