A runner can return to first base, however, they must touch second base on their way back. If they fail to touch second base (and run directly to first base without re-tagging second base) they can be called out on appeal. Appeals work as follows: the pitcher takes the mound with the ball, toes the rubber and then steps off and throws the ball to the base the runner did not tag. When the fielder steps on the base the umpire - if they were paying attention - will then call the runner who is now on first base out.
It is a base hit once the batter-baserunner passes first base. This will not change by being thrown out at second.
Hello. A force out can be used when the runner is 'forced' to move to the next base. For example, when there's a baserunner at first and the batter hits the ball, there are force outs at both first (where the batter must go) and second (since the batter is coming to first, it forces the baserunner to second). However, if the ball is caught, the baserunner may stay at first since the batter is out. If the baserunner is not 'forced' to move to the next base, a force out cannot be used. For example, when there's a baserunner at second, first is empty and the batter hits the ball, there is only a force out at first. Since the baserunner on second does not have to yield her base to a runner directly behind her, she must be tagged to make the out if she tries to take third. Even in a situation where a force out will work, a tag is also an out. So IMO if the runner is off base and you can tag her, do it, then look to see if there are other outs that could be made.
after you hit the ball, you run to first base and you are a baserunner..
A baserunner may lose his right to occupy a base when a batter becomes a baserunner. The original baserunner could be thrown out when forced to advance, this becomes a force out. Example: Baserunner on first, batter hits a ground ball, the baserunner on first must try to advance, so the batter may try to advance to first, should a fielder field the ground ball and throw to another fielder at 2nd base, who then tags the base for the out, this is a force out of the runner who originally occupied first base.
In the game of baseball, a baserunner is a player who is on base, ready to run to the next base.
The baserunner is called out.
The ump wouldn't call the baserunner out if the fielder kicked the base out from under him, no.
If a batted ball hits a baserunner in fair territory, the baserunner is out and the batter is awarded first base. If the baserunner is in foul territory and is hit by a batted ball it is just a foul ball. If a baserunner is hit by a thrown ball the ball is still in play, unless it is determined that the baserunner purposely moved into the path of the thrown ball, or is running out of the base path, then the baserunner is out for interference.
If you are referring to a sacrifice bunt, it is a play in which they may need to move a runner on first to second to get him into scoring position. They bunt the ball and force them to throw to first to get the batter out while they get the baserunner to second base.
No, once the runner heading for first base is out, the runner heading toward second base may safely return to first.
defensive indifference - an example is a baserunner taking second base without a play by the defense.