answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-06-18 04:58:39
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a base coach make contact with a runner when the ball is live?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is runner out or safe if base coach touches runner when ball in play?

Runner is out. No. The rule reads the runner is out if physically assisted by the coach. Simply touching the runner is nothing.


Is a runner on first out if he makes contact with the 2nd baseman while running to 2nd base on a popup before the 2nd baseman catches the ball with contact occurring after runner reaches 2nd base?

No. A runner is out anytime while running to a base if he makes contact with the ball or the glove that the ball is in. On a pop-fly, a player with the ball only needs to touch the base the runner left from if the runner did not tag-up to the bag after the ball was caught.


What happens if a runner comes in contact with the third base coach while rounding the bases?

As long as the coach does not assist the runner, there is no penalty.


When a player is on first or third can the coach be out of the box?

The 1st base coach can never be out of the coach's box. The 3rd base coach can only be out of his box when the ball is hit and there is a runner on or advancing to 3rd base.


If a infielder boots the ball from out of the base path into the base path and the runner runs in to him while he is trying to field the ball is the runner out?

No, once the fielder comes in contact with the batted ball a runner cannot be called for runner interference unless he intentionally goes out of his way (basepath) to make contact with the fielder


Is it a dead ball if the ball is thrown to first base and hits the base coach?

MLB Rule 5.08 is pretty clear: If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out.


When in baseball do the fielders need to tag the runner out?

Not always. If a fielder is in possession of the ball AND in physical contact to a base that a base runner must run, then that base runner is out.


Runner at third base goes home and touches home plate on a fair batted ball After touching the plate he hears someone say it was foul so he retreats to 3bA runner made it to third on the batted ball?

As soon as the runner touches home plate, the run scores. The following runner has the right to third base. Either the base coach or the following runner on third base should tell the runner who scored that it was not a foul ball and he should go to the dugout. The ball is still live.


If a runner runs into the base coach at third base is it coach interference?

Yes, it is coach's interference if, in the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at 3rd base, or at 1st base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving first or third base.


In a squeeze play if a team pitches out and the batter steps across the plate in an attempt to make contact with the ball the batter is out. Dead ball is called. The runner is tagged. is he out?

The runner would not be called out ... The ball is dead after the play the base runner would just walk back it 3rd base ...


If a base runner is advancing the infielder approaches and makes contact with the runner as he is running through the basepath to field the ball is the base runner out?

If the fielder has fielded a ball and has it in his possesion yes. If the fielder is in the path of the base and does not have the ball, the answer is no New answer: The fielder may enter the base path to field a BATTED ball and the runner must avoid contact whether the fielder has possession or not. The above answer is correct for a thrown ball only. (ie. the third baseman cannot position himself on the basepath while waiting for a throw from left field while the runner is advancing from 1st to 3rd on a hit.


What happens if a runner touches or interferes with a active ball?

If the runner is standing on a base, nothing happens; the ball is live. If the runner is not standing on a base, the ball is declared dead and the runner is out.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the play dead?

If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territory before the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire, the ball is dead, the runner is called out for interference, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced. If, however, the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire before hitting the base runner, the ball is live and play proceeds as usual (unless the runner is judged by the umpire to have deliberately made contact with the ball, then the runner can be called out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced, or, if flagrant, the batter can also be called out and no runners advance).


Is the base runner out if the Baseball is kicked by the base runner during play?

If the runner kicks a batted ball, the runner is out. If the ball had been touched by a fielder first, the runner is not out and can continue.


If a base runner and the ball reach the base at the same time on a force play is the runner safe or out?

MLB rules state the ball must beat the runner to the base on a force play. If the ball and the runner reach the base at the same time the runner would be considered safe. However, there are no ties in baseball. The runner either gets there before the ball or after...Ties are only a myth.....


If a base runner is hit by the ball is it a dead ball?

No. Runner is part of the field, therefor the ball is in play and the runner is out.


Is the batter out if the base runner touches the ball?

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)


What happens to the batter runner and other base runners if a batted ball hits a runner before passing an infielder?

If a runner is touched by a batted ball while off base before the ball passes an infielder (other than the pitcher), it's dead ball, runner is out. If the runner is on base when touched by a batted ball, it's live ball and play continues.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


Where does the ball need to be hit in order for a runner to have tag-up in basebal?

Any time a ball is caught by a fielder prior to the ball hitting the ground, with that catch not being the third out, any base runner can IN THEORY advance to the next base after the catch is made. However, if the fielder throws the ball to the base the runner is trying to get to, and the runner is tagged before reaching that base, that runner is also out. Thus, in a practical sense, the ball needs to be hit sufficiently far that the fielder, after catching the ball, could not throw the ball to the base, the runner would try to advance to, before the runner actually got to that base. That distance depends on how well the fielder can throw the ball and how fast the runner can get to the next base.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the batter safe or out?

When a batted ball hits a runner, A) the runner is out for interference, unless B) the ball first touches a defensive player or an umpire, then the runner is not out and the ball is live, unless C) the umpire judges the runner deliberately made contact with the ball, whereupon the umpire may call the runner out for interference and may also call the batter out for the runner's interference.


If a player is in the line of the runner and the runner runs into the player are they out?

If the fielder is attempting to make a play on a batted ball, and the base runner runs into the fielder, then the runner is out. If there is no play to be made on the ball, and the fielder is standing in the base line and is run into by the base runner, then it is interference on the fielder, and the runner is awarded the next base.


If the runner rounds first base and then wants to go back and the person with the ball tags the base is he out?

No, in that situation the person with the ball would have to tag the runner for the runner to be out.


What is a squeeze play?

The squeeze play is when there is a runner on third base, and she steals home on a pitch, the batters job is to bunt the ball toward the base whos fielder is the furthest back in order to have the runner score. The trick really is to just make contact with the ball because is you miss your runner wil more then likely be out


Can base runneers leave the base before the pitcher pitches the ball?

Yes. But if the runner is tagged by someone holding the ball while off the base, the runner is out. Thus, a pitcher -- or even the catcher! -- might throw the ball to the base where a runner is lazily standing too far from the base.