answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Assuming you mean a batted ball? The answer depends on where the runner on third is standing. If the runner is standing in foul territory, it is ruled a foul ball. If the runner is touching third base or leading off in fair territory and the ball hits him, then he is ruled out and the ball is dead. It is recorded as a putout by the third baseman. The batter is awarded first base, and other runners forced to advance will do so, so the runner on first is awarded second base, and the runner on second is awarded third base. If the infield-fly rule is in effect and the ball hits the runner on third, he is safe and the batter is out, provided the runner is touching third base. A runner on third should always lead off in foul territory to avoid these situations which would rule him out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-30 18:34:09
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Bases loaded ball hits runner standing on third base What is the call?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is a runner out if the ball gets to home base before them?

not unless the bases are loaded, creating a force at home for the runner on third otherwise the runner must be tagged to be put out


Does the runner on second have to run to third base when the batter hits the ball?

The runner only has to run if there is another runner behind him (bases loaded) or if there is a force at secoind base.


Does a runner need to be tagged if he overruns third base when the bases are loaded to be called out or does the third baseman only need to touch third base?

he needs to be tagged


With the bases loaded and 2 outs a batter hits a slow roller to third base the runner from second gets in a rundown and before he is tagged out the runner from third scores is the run good?

yes!


Bases loaded the batter walks the runner on third does not touch home can he be called out?

Yes. He can be called out because he will be outside of the line and he can be called out.


Does a runner score from third base if bases are loaded and there is a catcher interference call?

Yes. The batter is awarded first base and all runners would be forced up a base allowing the runner from third to score.


Does the catcher have to tag the runner coming home if bases are loaded and batter hits ground ball to third baseman who tags third before throwing home?

yes


During a bases loaded walk if the batter fails to touch first base on a base on balls does the runner on third base score?

If there are fewer than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, both the runner on third and the batter must touch their respective bases for the run to count.


If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out or does the third baseman have to tag the runner?

Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him. Make sense?


How many runs should be scored when there are bases loaded 2 outs and the batter hits a grandslam home run but while running the bases passes the runner ahead of him between second and third?

Zero


When do you pitch from the windup?

Generally, only when there are no runners on base. However, you could also pitch from the windup when there is a runner only on third base, or on 2nd and 3rd, or when the bases are loaded. Pitching from the windup can be a problem with a runner on third because this will allow the runner to get a longer lead off the base than the lead the runner will get when the pitcher pitches from the stretch.


What is a Grand Slam in baseball?

Good qustion Jeppe. a grand slam is when the bases are loaded ( a runner is on First, Second, and third) and the batter/hitter hits a home run.


When bases are loaded and the first out occurs at home is there a force play at third?

Yes. The runner going to 3rd is still forced since there are runners "forced" to each base behind him.


In how many ways can a runner score from third base?

You can just run home on a play, steal home, tag up, or be walked home (If the pitcher walks someone on loaded bases)


Can a runner run from first base on a sacrifice fly?

He can. But it would only be a sacrifice fly if someone scored on the play. So there would likely be runners on first and third or bases loaded.


The bases loaded and there were two outs The batter drew a walk but did not advance to first but went immediately into the dugout The runner on third advanced on his own to home?

the batter is out and the run doesn't count


If the bases are loaded with one out and the batter hits a ground ball - which hits his runner who is going from 1st to 2nd - does the runner on third advance to score?

I would say the runner is called out (would be Out #2) and the runner on third could advance to score. However, if there were two outs, the runner would be called out (Out #3) and therefore, the runner on 3rd would not be able to score (unless of course he crossed home plate before the runner got hit by the ground ball, then it would count)


What are the 8 ways that runner can score from third base with two outs?

1. Base hit 2. Wild pitch 3. Passed ball 4. Balk 5. Walk (if bases are loaded) 6. Hit batsman (if bases are loaded) 7. Double 8. Triple 9. Home Run


When is it interference by the batter with the catcher when a runner from third base is trying to score?

When the batter is standing on the plate.


With runners on 2nd and 3rd if the batter gets hit by a pitch can the runner on 3rd advance home?

No. When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead and no runners may advance. However, if the bases were loaded, then all runners are forced to advance and the runner from third would score.


What happens if a runner comes in contact with the third base coach while rounding the bases?

As long as the coach does not assist the runner, there is no penalty.


When stealing home plate can the catcher jump in front of the plate to tag the runner?

YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.


When the bases are loaded and 2 out a ball is hit to SS The runner scores before the SS throws the batter out Does the run count?

No the run does not count. An out at any base would be a force out and no runs can score, If the runner scored and the third out is made because a runner is called out on an appeal play such as failure to retouch on a fly ball out or a runner missing a base the run would count


When bases are loaded and two outs can the batter run down to first on a dropped third strike?

All that the rules say is the base must be unoccupied for the runner to advance with a dropped third strike. Now, in your situation there are two outs which changes things a little. It allows the runner on first to vacate the base by attempting to advance to second. If there is a runner on first with less than two outs the batter cannot attempt to take first on a dropped third strike no matter what the runner on first does. In your scenario as well, the bases are loaded so all runners must leave their base in order for the batter to advance to first making it a force play at home plate. All that the defense needs to do is step on home plate with the ball before the runner from third can successfully cross home plate in order to record the strike out.


In a baseball game the home team has two outs with the bases loaded a flyball to the outfield is droped the runners on third crosses the plate just before the runner going from second base to third ba?

inning over. The run does not count because the force out at 3rd base.