answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The run does not count. This is a force out, not a "time" play. The tag by SS on runner going to 3rd is still a force. Regardless, the throw to 2nd is force out for the 3rd out. No run can score on a play in which the 3rd out is a force out. The time when the runner touches home is irrelevant. If the 3rd out was a "tag" play (not a force), then the run would count since the runner touched home before the 3rd out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

yes it does

But in the situation where the ball is thrown to first base witch would be a force out, even if the 3rd base runner has scored the run does not count!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

WRONG. The run cannot count if the third out was made on a batter/runner before he reaches a base he was force to advance to. Doesn't matter if he was tagged or the ball was thrown to the base.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

It is a force in the same way first base is forced after an out at second. This play, in reality, would probably never happen, as the catcher would usually just throw it to first to ensure two outs on the play.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

If it was a ground ball, then it would be a force out.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Yes the run scores, it would be scored the same as if s runner was thrown out trying to stretch a single into a double and a run crossed the plate before the put was made

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Out. Force play.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

no

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Bases are loaded ground ball to third the throw goes home for a force out the catcher throws back to third base is it a force or a tag play?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When bases are loaded ball is hit on ground to first baseman who tags runner out then throws home all runners go back to previous bases are runners all safe?

Yes. If the first baseman tags out the batter on his way to first, the three existing runners can return to their original bases; none can be "forced out."


If bases are loaded and the pitcher throws a wild pitch in retreiving the wild pitch the catcher catches the ball with his mask are the base runners automatically awarded 2 bases?

Any play on a ball with a hat, mask, throwing the glove, or using your jersey intentionally to field a ball shall be rewarded as 3 bases and it is a live ball -- so in your scenario.. all 3 runs would score, and the catcher could face an ejection the catcher picking the ball up with is mask is considered a balk and all the runners Will advance one (1) base


In baseball what are the ways in which a triple play can be performed?

In baseball there are many ways in which a triple play can be performed. If bases are loaded and the third baseman stops a ground ball, tags his base, throws the ball to second base, and the second baseman throws the ball to first base, that would be one example of a triple play.


What are the ways that Branch Rickey said you could score from third base to home with less than two outs?

I can think of 12 ways (I answered this question for someone else and onyl thought of ten): Base hit Wild pitch Passed ball Sacrifice fly Squeeze bunt Fielder's choice Ground out by batter Balk by pitcher Batter walked with bases loaded Batter hit by pitch with bases loaded Error on fielder Steal of home What about interference by the catcher on a pitched ball with the bases loaded? Would not the batter be awarded first base, thus forcing the run home from third? Answer We came up with 18: 1. Hit 2. Error 3. Passed Ball 4. Wild Pitch 5. Balk 6. Catcher's Interference 7. Sac Fly 8. Bunt 9. Bases Loaded Walk 10. Bases Loaded HBP 11. Wild pick off throw 12. Wild throw from catcher back to pitcher 13. Steal of home 14. Fielder Interference (Cecile, not Prince) 15. Fan Interference 16. Muffed Infield Fly 17. Fielder's Choice 18. Catcher's Balk


If the bases are loaded with 1 out does ever body have to run?

Yes, because the bases are loaded!


If there are no outs and bases are loaded on a drop third strike. What should the catcher do?

Throw the ball back to the pitcher. A batter can not advance on a dropped third if first base is occupied.


What does loaded bases in softball mean?

bases loaded means that there is a runner on 1st base, a runner on 2nd base, and a runner on 3rd base, all of the bases.


What is lefty and slam in a baseball game?

Lefty is someone who either hits or throws left handed. Slam is used in Grand slam, some one who hits a bases loaded home run.


Bases loaded I get walked Is that an RBI?

Yes


What does it mean when the bases are loaded in baseball?

3 base runners on 3 bases


What are the rules for baseball?

in baseball the rule is the other team throws a ball and the person who is batting has to hit it if he hits it he has to run bases. if the batter gets 3 strikes hes out and if He the batter run all three bases and back home without getting touched by a catcher its a home run.


What if the catcher uses his equipment illegally?

Rule 7.05(h) says that if a catcher (or any fielder) deliberately uses his hat or mask to touch a ball in play, the runner shall advance one more base. 7.05(d) says if the catcher (or any fielder) throws his hat or mask to catch or stop a thrown ball, the runner shall advance two bases.