answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, if you think you have hit your ball in play out of bounds you must play a provisional ball from the exact same spot as where you played the previous shot from. However, if you know the ball is out of bounds the next ball you play becomes the ball in play.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-03-13 14:51:37
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Ball out of bounds play provisional ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a player who is out of bounds direct the ball back in bounds and continue play?

No. Once the ball touches a player that is out of bounds, the ball is considered out of bounds.


What is a ball out of bounds in Basketball?

It means that the ball out of bounds/ out of play/ not on the court.


When playing basketball if the ball is passed and goes out of bounds but is caught live ball by opposite team who is it out on?

in order for a ball in basketball to be considered to be out of bounds the ball MUST touch/hit the ground out bounds ... if the ball does not touch/hit out of bounds the ball is still live a play can go out of bounds to throw/pass the ball back in bounds so long as the player that is going for the ball bounds feet are in the air when he makes contact with the ball ...


What part of the ball has to cross the line for it to be out of play?

When any part of the ball or any part of the ball carrier touches the out of bounds line, the ball is out of play.


In golf can an out of bounds post be moved to play your ball that is not out of bounds?

No, not in golf


What happens when you hit a golf ball out of bounds?

There may be some local variations to speed play, but generally the penalty is "stroke and distance." This means that you add a penalty stroke to your score and hit the ball again from where the original ball was struck. The player has the option of hitting a provisional ball as well.


Second shot from a tee box?

If you just hit a ball out of bounce from the tee box or if you don't know if you did you can call for a provisional ball. You would hit your second shot from the tee box "your provisional shot" and see if you can find the first ball. If you can't and your provisional ball is in play then you have play provisional ball and you accrue a 1 shot penalty stroke also. If you find your first shot off of the tee then you pick up your provisional ball and play your first tee shot. No penalty if you find your first tee shot and you can play it. So, the second shot from the tee box would be considered a provisional shot.


In Volly ball is the ball out of bounds if it hits the line during play?

Depends On The Referee.


At what times is someone in possession of the ball considered out of bounds if ones knee goes down in bounds but the ball hits out of bounds?

If his knee touches inbounds, he is considered tackled in the field of play, regardless if the the ball ends up out of bounds. The clock will continue to run


What happens in a game of golf when you lose the first ball you hit and then find it after you've hit a drop provisional?

You hit a provisional when the ball you just hit might be lost outside of a hazard. Usually that means you think you have hit it out of bounds or into some sort of mess where it's unlikely that you will find it. Hitting a provisional means that you are taking stroke and distance IF you don't find your first ball. If you find your first ball anywhere in play (whether or not you like where it is or even if it's unplayable) before you hit your provisional after reaching where the ball is likely to be, then the provisional is cancelled and you continue with your first ball, just as though you never hit the provisional. Once you've reached the point where your ball probably is and hit the provisional again, you're stuck with the provisional and the stroke and distance penalty that you took. This is covered in Rule 27-2, see www.usga.org. There are many interesting decisions related to this one, mostly about what constitutes a "lost" ball.


How is a ball determined to be out in tennis?

If the ball touches the line, it's considered fair play or in bounds.


Can you kick out of bounds in soccer?

You cannot kick a soccer ball out of bounds and still play it. If the ball is kicked out of bounds you either do a throw in, corner kick, or goal kick, depending where you are on the field.


Can a football receiver be forced out of bounds and come back in and catch the ball?

If the receiver is forced out of bounds by a defender and immediately returns to the field of play, then yes, he can legally catch the ball. If he runs out of bounds voluntarily, then he cannot be the first person to touch the ball.


What happens in golf when you hit the provisional ball out of bounds?

If you hit your first ball (1 off the tee) say you think you have lost it in the tree etc or out of bounds you hit your provisonal (3 off the tee), if you now have hit this ball out of bounds you play another provisonal (5 off the tee, your next shot will be 6). If you are playing a stroke play competition, unless you are going to NR you will have to keep going till you get one in play and complete the hole. If you are playing a stableford competition you would simply ding the hole and move on.


What happens when the ball gets kicked out of play in basketball?

That is called a kick ball. For example, if Team Blue had the ball and they passed it but Team Red kicked it out of play, then Team Blue would pass the ball to his/her teammate from out of bounds.


Why does the qb throw the ball out of the field?

The clock stops when the ball goes out of bounds. If a quarterback doesn't have a play because the defense has thoroughly covered anyone who can legally receive, he'll throw the ball out of bounds to stop the clock and allow the team to try a different play.


If a basketball hits the referee standing out of bounds is the ball still in play?

No


What term used to put a soccer ball into play after its out of bounds called?

A throw-in.


In the NFL if the ball goes out of bounds while receiving a kick off and touches the ball on the 5 yard line in bounds does the ball come out to the 40?

As long as the ball was kicked from the kicking team's own 30, then yes. The rule is NOT that a kickoff out of bounds is placed at the 40-yard line. The rule is that the ball is placed 30 yards from the spot of the kick. So if the kicking team had been given a 10-yard penalty on the PAT play, and ended up kicking from the 20 instead of the 30, and the ball goes out of bounds, the ball would then be placed at the 50 -- 30 yards away.


What happens when a soccer ball goes out of bounds in a soccer game?

If the ball goes out of play on the sidelines, then the team who did not kick the ball out of play goes to throw it back in to their teammates. If the ball goes out of play on the goal-lines, and it was an opponent who kicked it out, then its a goal-kick. If it was an opponents side of the field, then it will be a corner kick.


Why is a fumble that gos backward out of the inzone for the offense a safety and not a touchbach?

If you put the ball into your own endzone by backward pass or by carrying it there if the ball becomes dead in the endzone it is either a safety if you have possession at the end of the play or a touchdown if the oponent has possession at the end of the play. A ball that goes out of bounds is in possession of the last team to have possession in bounds so a ball going out of bounds in that case is a safety. Likewise a ball fumbled that goes out of bounds behind the goal line is a touchback because the team put the ball in the oponents endzone. If you put the ball in the oponents endzone it is either a touchback if he has possession or a touchdown if you have possession in the end zone at the end of the play. A kick remains a kick until it is possessed or is dead. That is why a ball touched by the receivers that then goes in the endzone where it is downed by the receivers is a touchback. It was the kick that put the ball in the opponents endzone.


Who takes the ball out after a score in basketball?

Usually, the play that the team is using determines which player inbounds the ball. (Either after a foul, out of bounds, or shot.) Most of the time one of the guards/wings will inbound the ball with the point guard, but sometimes the person who catches the ball after the basket will just step out of bounds and pass it in.


Can the runner in baseball advance after he is hit by a thrown ball and it goes out of bounds?

Once the ball goes out of play, the number of bases the runner is to advance will depend on the ground rules at that ball park, generally when a ball goes out of play the runner gets 1 base


If the ball goes off the rim and over the backboard is it out of bounds?

If the ball goes off the rim and over the backboard then it is out of bounds. If it goes off the rim and hits the top of the backboard but falls back in play on the front side of the backboard, then it isn't out of bounds.


How is the ball put into play when it goes out of bounds over the touch line?

A throw-in is awarded when the ball leaves the field across a touch line.