answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Not usually, but it is possible. If you are in an offside position (as described in the question), you can be called offside if you play the ball, interfere with an opponent, or gain an advantage from being in that position. If you, being in an offside position, chase after a ball that an opponent is also chasing, you can (and will) be called offside before either of you get to the ball, because you are involved in the play by interfering with an opponent, because that opponent might have acted differently if you weren't chasing the ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-08-19 00:34:29
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-06-08 19:25:55

You can be guilty of an offside offense without touching the ball.

If you interfere with an opponent or if you are interfering with the GK's line of sight.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Are you offsides in soccer if you are past the last defender but you don't touch the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is an offside rule in soccer?

"offsides" means that the ball was being passed to you when you where behind the last defender of the opposing team. When you are offsides, the play stops and the opposing team gets a free-kick from where the ball was passed. This prevents "cherry-picking".


What are the impact of offside rules in soccer?

The offsides rule in soccer prevents a player from standing by the goal and waiting for passes. When the ball is kicked, you cannot be behind the last defender (not including the goalie).


What is offsides?

Offsides in American football occurs when any part of a defender's body is beyond the line of scrimmage when the ball is snapped. It is a five yard penalty.


What is the meaning of offsides in football?

Offsides occur when an attacking player is past the second to last defender when the ball is played, and that person as the opportunity to affect the play.


If 2 people are on a breakaway in soccer and one passes is it offsides?

If the player receiving the ball is behind, or level with, the penultimate (second from last) defender when the ball is played, there is no offside. If the player receiving the ball is behind, or level with, the ball at the moment is is played, there is also no offside infraction. But, if the player receiving the ball is ahead of both the ball and the penultimate defender, and is not on his own half of the field, then the offside infraction must be enforced.


Is it always a penalty to touch the soccer ball with your hands?

It must be deliberate handling and is a direct free kick. In order to be a penalty it must be done by a defender (not the goal keeper) in the defender's penalty area.


In high school football is an offsides penalty a dead ball foul?

Yes. Play is stopped the moment the defender crosses into the neutral zone. Technically, this is called "encroachment." There is no "offsides" foul in high school football.


Defender back passes to keeper?

If a defender passes the ball with his feet to the goal keeper, the goal keeper may not touch the ball with their hands.


When should a soccer referee blow the whistle?

A soccer referee may blow the whistle if: # A player is offsides (an offender is behind the last defender when the ball is kicked). # Players are pushing or elbowing each other. # Tripping (a player sticks his foot in front of another player and does NOT hit the ball, if you touched the ball first your safe). # A goal is made # The ball goes out of bounds # The beginning and end of each game


Are a players arms considered when judging offsides in soccer?

No. Only the parts of the body that can play the ball are considered in the offside determination.


Can you pass the ball to your GOALY if your a defender?

In soccer, yes but if you pass the ball to the goalie they can't pick it up


What are offsides in flag football?

offsides in any football (are you talking about footy or soccer) means that right before the ball is hiked, someone is over the line of scrimage. It is called as a 5 yard penalty.

People also asked