answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If you reach your racquet over the net in the middle of a point before the ball has crossed the net, you lose the point. If the ball has crossed the net and when you return it your follow through goes over the net without touching it, it is good

User Avatar

Wiki User

8y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

[Official Rule of tennis 2011 ITF]

The point is lost if : The ball in play touches the racket when the player is not holding it; or The player deliberately and materially changes the shape of the racket when the ball is in play.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Thats called an attack, spike, hit, or kill

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

No, you can not reach over the net in volleyball. You may get away with it once in a while if you've got a new not very expierenced referee. but 9 out of 10 times you will get caught.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

No you cannot reach over the net to hit a tennis ball...

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

In tennis and volley-ball you lose the point if you touch the net while the ball is in play.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

it is called "attack".

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: An attempt by a player to win a point by hitting the ball over the net?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

How many times can you attempt to serve in tennis before giving ball to other opponent?

You can get as many tries as you want as long as you don't attempt to hit the ball. If you attempt to hit the ball then you get two tries (faults) before the other player wins the point.


How does a softball player use math?

By calculating the the speed and the amount of power you put into hitting the ball will determine the distance the ball will travel


What is the difference between bunting and hitting in baseball?

I am a softball player. Let me say first, bunting is basically half the swing as hitting. Hitting consists of swinging a bat across your entire body. Bunting, you swing 180 degrees and stop and let the ball hit your bat. Bunting makes the ball go in play at a small distance; hitting the ball can make your ball go anywhere!


Can you hit the ball on the full in table tennis?

Generally, no. If you "volley" the ball (as they do in tennis), you would lose the point. The technical term is "obstruction" but what it refers to is hitting the ball before it bounces. If there's a chance that the ball might hit the table because it's still travelling towards it, your opponent would lose the point if he prevented it from doing so by hitting/volleying it on the full. But ... If the ball has already passed over the table and/or is travelling away from the table, your opponent wins the point whether he hits/volleys it or not. And also ... as well as hitting the ball with your racket, if you touch the ball with any part of your body or with anything you carry, the same rule applies.


What is the term change in service in table tennis?

The person serving is the one who starts the point with a serve (hitting the ball out of their hand). The service change is when the other player starts the point (serves). Multiple service changes happen in a single game allowing each player opportunities to serve.


What is Service Attempt?

A service attempt is anytime a player serves regardless of whether the ball goes over the net or not or if it goes in or out.


When a tennis player practice by hitting the ball against the wallwhich of newtons laws of motion is the player making use of?

When a tennis player practices by hitting a ball against a wall the player is making use of Newton's Third Law. According to Newton's Third Law, whenever one object exerts a force on a second object, the second object exerts an equal and opposite force on the first object, These two forces are called action and reaction forces. Back to the question, the tennis player is making use of Newton's Third Law because when he is hitting a ball against the wall, he is exerting a force. However without the wall exerting an equal and opposite force on the ball, it would be impossible for the ball to bounce back and the player to continue hitting the ball against the wall which is why the player is making use of Newton's Third Law.


When a tennis player practices by hitting a ball against a wallwhich of newton's laws of motion is the player making use of?

When a tennis player practices by hitting a ball against a wall the player is making use of Newton's Third Law. According to Newton's Third Law, whenever one object exerts a force on a second object, the second object exerts an equal and opposite force on the first object, These two forces are called action and reaction forces. Back to the question, the tennis player is making use of Newton's Third Law because when he is hitting a ball against the wall, he is exerting a force. However without the wall exerting an equal and opposite force on the ball, it would be impossible for the ball to bounce back and the player to continue hitting the ball against the wall which is why the player is making use of Newton's Third Law.


If a player successfully challenges a line call why is the point replayed - or is this not always the case?

It is not always the case. If a ball called out is successfully challenged the point is replayed because the opponent probably did not attempt to return the ball because of it being called OUT. However, when a first service called in is successfully challenged, the player just has the second service left.


How do you score a point in Polo?

== == See the Related Links for "Rules of polo" to the bottom for the answer.


When A Tennis player practices by hitting a ball against a wall which of newtons laws of motion is the player making use of?

the 4th one


When a tennis player practices by hitting a ball against a wall which newtons laws of motion is the player making use of?

the 4th one