There are two situations. (1) If the catcher (or any defensive player) has possession of the ball the runner (Rule 7.08(a)(2) the runner is out if "the runner does not slide or attempt to get around a fielder who has the ball and is waiting to make the tag." In addition, if the umpire judges that the runner was malicious and trying to injure the fielder (including the catcher) the umpire may eject the player. However, if the catcher does NOT have possession of the ball and therefore is not waiting to make the tag, the catcher is guilty of obstruction (Rule 2.00, definition of obstruction). If the umpire makes this judgement, the runner would be awarded the base to the runner. This does not give the runner free license to slam into the catcher. Again, if the umpire judges the runner was malicious, the runner would be awarded the base (including scoring the run) and then the umpire may eject the player. In addition, if the umpire judges that the catcher was malicious and was malicious in their action (causing injury to the runner), the catcher may be ejected. So the bottom line is that the runner and catcher are expected to avoid malicious contact.
Assuming the catcher is near home plate, the runner has to slide. If he doesn't and knocks the catcher down he is out. If the catcher is up the baseline and is waiting to make the tag the runner would be called out for crashing into him. If the slide knocks the catcher down, the outcome of the play would depend on whether the catcher maintained control of the ball during the tag and whether the runner touched home plate.
There are nine players on the defense (three out fielders, four infielders, a pitcher and a catcher). There can be anywhere from 1 to 4 players from the offense on the diamond (a batter and up to a runner on each base.) Counting both the offense and the defense, there can be anywhere from 10 to 13 players on the diamond at one time.
Generally the designated runner is to be used for the catcher when there are two outs, sometimes the number of outs is not important. The PURPOSE of the rule is to allow the catcher to put his equipment on sooner and speed up the game. Some leagues use the designated runner for both the pitchers and catchers. This allows the pitcher and catcher to also rest. In addition it gives a player the opportunity to participate who is not in the line-up.
Catcher's "Speed up Rule": with 2 outs, or an inning about to end, if your catcher for next inning is on base, remove him for a pinch runner and get their Catcher's Gear on before your team goes out to the field defensively.
If the batter showed signs of trying to move out of the way to give the catcher a clear lane to throw then neither the batter or the runner it out. If the batter did not move at all to provide the catcher a throwing lane, then the batter is out, but the runner is safe.
A courtesy runner is typically used for the pitcher or catcher, especially in games on a time limit.
Yes. In Rule 7.06 of the MLB Rulebook it states: " The catcher, without the ball in his possession, has no right to block the pathway of the runner attempting to score. The base line belongs to the runner and the catcher should be there only when he is fielding a ball or when he already has the ball in his hand."
This is a good question. If the catcher is in the base path when the runner is running home the runner will not be ejected and the point will be scored automatically. This is due to the fact that the only time the catcher can block home plate is when he has the ball, otherwise he must be out of the runners way.
Passing baseball means the catcher failed to hold or control a legally pitched ball. As a result of this loss of control, the batter or runner on base advances.
Assuming that the runner is off of a bag then yes.
The runner is safe, in order for the runner to be considered out the fielder would have to have the ball in his glove or hand and tag the runner. *edit: It depends on where the runner is when he is hit. If the runner is running a direct path to first and is within the 3ft baseline, the runner is safe. If however the runner takes a lane outside the 3ft path, in a deliberate attempt to block the catcher's throwing lane, the runner is out for Interference.
No. At the time the pitch is made, all players other than the catcher must be in fair territory. Violation of this rule is a balk, and the runner on 3rd would be awarded home.
No. With minor exceptions (e.g. a fielder with the ball can tag "out" a runner) baseball is NOT a contact sport. A catcher holding the ball and blocking off home plate CAN legally be barreled over by a runner attempting to score by knocking the ball out of the catchers hands but other than that, no there is no tackling in baseball.
YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.
1. A passed ball on a pitch, and runner scores. 2. A 3rd strike and catcher misses the ball, overthrowing at first, runner scores. 3. A squeeze play, missed bunt, with catcher missing the ball, runner scores.
The act of hitting a runner with the ball does not generally qualify in and of itself as an out. If the base runner is running legally (e.g. does not interfere), then there is no out, and the ball is live. However, if the batter/runner is running illegally, such as running outside of the 3 foot runner's lane between home and first base, the batter/runner will be out if hit by the catcher's throw. If he is going straight to the base, the runner is not out.
The Pitcher does the most work on a baseball diamond because the pitcher works on every play to try to strikeout the batter. The other players just try to get the batter/runner out when the batter hits the ball.
No, the catcher (or any other player) can choose not to throw to a base at any time, regardless of whether a runner is going there. If the catcher knows he can't get a stealing runner out, he will most likely not throw to avoid the risk of an error.
Only is the catcher catches it.
returned to first because when the batter intefer with the catcher the play is normaily stop
The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.